Skip to main content


Drake will receive the Artist of the Decade award when the Billboard Music Awards air on May 23, NBC and Dick Clark Productions announced Tuesday morning.

Producers said the trophy honors Billboard consumption data from 2009 to 2019. Drake is his first recipient by number, having received the most Billboard Awards to date – 27. (He racked up the numbers recently; 12 of those previous BBMAs arrived in 2019.) Taylor Swift is the closest finalist, with 23 historic BBMAs to her name.

Producers pointed out that during the 2010s, Drake had nine No.1 albums, the most of any artist in the decade. His 33 singles in the Billboard Hot 100 top 10 in the 2010s also represent the most artists to reach this mark.

The show is hosted by Nick Jonas of Microsoft Theater in LA and airs live in all time zones on May 23 at 8 p.m. ET / 5 PT.

Pink was previously announced as this year’s Icon Award recipient, an honor for career achievement awarded annually since 2011. She and The Weeknd are the only performers announced to date.

Between the Weeknd and Drake, the Billboard Music Awards are proving to be a particularly hospitable haven this year for superstar artists who had their beef with the Grammys.

Drake is also up for seven awards in standard categories (Top Radio Chanson; Best Male Artist; Best Billboard 200 Artist; Top 100 Artist; Best Streaming Song Artist; Best rap artist; Best Streaming Song). It is without having an appropriate album to put it in contention in even more categories. His last full album, “Scorpion”, was released in 2018. A new full album, “Certified Lover Boy”, has been promised for this. year.

The Artist of the Decade honor was originally due at the 2020 Billboard Music Awards, which were held last fall. Data-based title contenders from positions 100 to 6 were revealed ahead of this show, leaving fans wondering which artists would be in the top five and in what order, but the prize did not appear. on this show.

Previous artists of the decade winners include Mariah Carey, who received the honor in 1999.